King Edward Mine
King Edward Mine, near Troon, is the oldest and best preserved pre-1920 mining site left in Cornwall. For more than a century it was used by Camborne School of Mines to deliver practical training before being bought by Cornwall Council in 2009. Now a popular mining heritage attraction, the site is crossed by the Great Flat Lode cycle and walking trail.
A recent grant of more than a million pounds from the ERDF Convergence Programme and funding from Cornwall Council are being used to turn the old Count House and Carpenter’s Shop, both Grade II* listed buildings, into nine new workspace units for businesses working within the knowledge economy and creative industries’ sector.
Using local expertise and materials, the two buildings are being comprehensively refurbished and restored to meet the best environmental, access and sustainability standards possible for buildings of this historical nature.
The King Edward Mine Workspace Project is the result of several years of planning and consultation and is the first of two major capital developments for the site that the Council is currently working on. The second is focused on conserving the museum buildings, creating more exhibition space, enhancing the visitor experience and turning what used to be the Assay Office complex into a cafe that is due to open in Spring 2016.
The units, all of varying sizes, are due for completion in April 2015. For more information, please contact Neil Sargent at Smiths Gore, Chartered Surveyors in Truro who are advising Cornwall Council on the proposed lettings. Telephone: 01872 274646 or email email@example.com